Be There

Boardwalk by Christian Holzinger
Picture Taken By: Christian Holzinger

I wish I could be there.

On that boardwalk, last summer

When you first told me you loved me.

Like fireflies, you lit up my world.

I wish I could be there.

When you told me you’d never leave,

And hold me forever, cherish me forever.

Why couldn’t that have been the truth?

Like summer, you came and left.

I wish I could be there.

Walking along the pier,

Laughing at your jokes

And smiling when you smiled.

Like cologne, you lost your affect on me.

I wish I could be there,

When life was as easy

As the next breath.

But like a dream, I woke up.

 

Leave a Reply

