Somewhere Around the World

Wherever you are… I know that somewhere around the world you will read this and think of me.  You will think of someone that you left behind.  You will think of someone who fills every thought you have ever had.  The soldier on the front line, he thinks of the girl that he left back home and he reads her letter – hears her voice in his mind as he reads her words.  The person who studies abroad halfway around the world – who misses the sister that lives out her legacy while she is gone – these are the people that we walk by and neglect.

The people who are somewhere around the world are the people in our lives.  They are the people we love, the people we smile at in the coffee shop and the people who we always only stop to say hello to and nothing more.  But more than that the people who are around the world are the people who sit next to us at the dinner table: the people in our family.  And I have been there.  The times when I feel like the people in my family are somewhere around the world, that they do not understand me and that they do not love me.  But I know, I believe, I trust that somewhere around the world: someone loves me.

And that is the greatest hope for us all: that someone, somewhere loves us.

Leave a Reply

